Life of Smith

I haven’t frequented many zoos in the past years of my life, simply because I’ve never lived near a great one and I had no children to take.  Smith’s getting older now and we thought it was time to give it a try!  Going to the zoo always reminds me of one of my favorite books, Life of Pi by Yann Martel about a young boy who is the son of a zookeeper.  So I’ll share a favorite quote from the book:

Just beyond the ticket booth Father had painted on a wall in bright red letters the question: DO YOU KNOW WHICH IS THE MOST DANGEROUS ANIMAL IN THE ZOO? An arrow pointed to a small curtain. There were so many eager, curious hands that pulled at the curtain that we had to replace it regularly. Behind it was a mirror. (1.8.4)

We were invited by our sweet friends Maile and Addison.  Smith didn’t have much of a reaction to the animals, but definitely watched them like she does our dog, Stanley.  Once she gets a little older, I’m sure we will visit her animal friends more often.

sweaty little girl at lunch!

she's not quite big enough for the "live animal" box.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Smith

Leave a Reply

